Calling all writers to Picture 1000 Words

Can you Picture 1000 Words? I would like to invite writers to participate with me on a new photo-literary collaboration for the 2012 Emerging Writers’ Festival.

The Concept: To exhibit a series of 1000-word creative writing pieces paired with the images that inspired them.

Exhibition Details: The exhibition will take place in a Melbourne gallery in May 2012 and appear on the Emerging Writers’ Festival program. If successful there may be scope for the exhibition to travel to other cities or even internationally.

Writing Guidelines: I’m interested in original creative compositions of exactly 1000 words (excluding the title) in any style or genre that are inspired by or relate to one of these enigmatic images. Narrative, dialogue, poetry, prose, comedic, provocative, experimental or any other type of writing you might like to try will be considered. Submissions do not have to relate in any way to the real world origins of the photographs. You are encouraged to create your own characters and paint your own scenarios as much as you like. If you are interested in being involved but do not wish to compete with other submissions I may be swayed to reserve a particular image of your choice just for you. In this case I invite you to impress me with a brief bio of yourself, some high quality (preferably published) examples of your short format writing and a single paragraph concept for your idea and the photo which you wish to write for. You will also be subject to a tighter deadline. If any images become reserved from submissions I will post the information here on my blog.

*** Please note the following images have been reserved from further submissions: 3, 5, 6, 19, 22, 23, 26, 29 & 31 ***

Terms & Conditions: You may make only one submission per image (there are 36 images available but I will accept a maximum of 5 submissions per writer). I will not be accepting pieces related to any other photographs. Work submitted must not have been published anywhere before. You will retain copyright to your work and any sales resulting from exhibition will be split evenly between the writer and myself. By participating in this project you agree to grant me a license to reproduce your work to present in the exhibition/s that result from this project and for the purposes of promoting the project. Photographs and corresponding writing pieces will be mounted and sold together. If sold, profits will be split after printing and mounting costs are subtracted. If not sold I will retain ownership of the mounted pair of works (physical copy only, not the copyright) until such time as the work is sold whereupon profits will be split as previously mentioned. I reserve the right to include or exclude any work submitted for the exhibition at any time for any reason. These conditions may be subject to minor change over the coming months, any changes will be posted to this blog, In the event you have submitted work before they are changed you will be notified by email and given the opportunity to review. Note it is not my intention to make any changes to the copyright or sales details, but other elements of the T&Cs may have to change.

*Note the following has now been added to the terms and conditions:

Authors are free to publish their work elsewhere given they retain copyright, however it is a condition of participation that the work not be published before the project is exhibited and that Cam Cope Photography and the Picture 1000 Words project is credited with the commission.

Submissions & Inquiries: To express your interest or send me a submission you can write to me at pic1000@camcope.com or if you have a general question you can simply ask in the comments section of this blog post below. It may be in your interests to let me know which image you intend to write for so I can give you a gauge on the amount of interest I’ve had on that particular image. If submitting please follow these submission guidelines or your work may not be considered:

  • Place your name and the photo numbers you would like to write for (see filenames displayed in the slideshow) in the subject line of the email.
  • In the body of the email briefly introduce yourself and summarise your experience (links to your writing, your blog, webpage or published work would be useful here).
  • Outline which photos you are writing for (again see filenames displayed in the slideshow) and the titles of the pieces.
  • Attach each writing piece in a Microsoft Word 97-2004 .doc format document following these naming conventions: yoursurname_your first initial_photonumber eg. if I was submitting for picture 23 I would name the file Cope_C_23.

Deadline for entries: March 31st 2012.

I’m really looking forward to reading some unique takes on these photographs and as mentioned if you have general questions don’t hesitate to ask in the comments below or send me an email at pic1000@camcope.com.

To keep up to date on all announcements and updates about this project you can subscribe to this blog by adding your email address in the ’email subscription’ field on the right hand side of this page. For more information about my photography you can read my bio, check out my website and find me on facebook.

12 thoughts on “Calling all writers to Picture 1000 Words

  1. Pingback: Picture 1000 Words project update « CAM COPE Photography Blog

    • Hi Marianne,

      Thanks for your question. The scope of this is limited to English language writing at this stage. Though I am considering expanding the project in future years so maybe some day!

      Cheers,

      Cam.

  2. I’d like to write one about that golden scenery with the van/bus in it. It reminds me of something from my past. Will we get a bigger picture to work with? and I couldn’t find a number system. I’m probably missing some link in there somewhere:/ So OK, I’ll go back up and go through your instructions again…. :}

    • Hi Eliza,

      Thanks for the question. I’m accepting a maximum 5 entries per author but it is likely that only one work will be accepted for inclusion per author (assuming the work fits the project well enough).

      Cheers,

      Cam.

  3. Pingback: picture 1000 words « clairevarley

Leave a Reply

