The Authentic Youth Union

Two members of ‘El Autentico Union Juvenil de La Paz’ (The Authentic Youth Union from La Paz) lug their instruments up the hill in Copacabana, Bolivia. Canon 5D Mark II camera and Canon 24-105mm f4L IS USM lens. Exposure Details: 1/500 second @ f4 ISO 400.

I grabbed this shot during the fiesta in Copacabana, Bolivia I’ve been blogging about for the past couple of weeks. These two guys (amongst others) were lugging their gear up the hill towards another churchground and the main area for the night’s festivities. I think a number of things make this shot work. One is the kind of Abbey Road symmetry going on with the two subject’s legs. Another are the kind of compositional triangles that are formed between the main points of interest (the legs, heads of the two figures and the red drum). Finally the glance in my direction that the front drummer made is what completes the moment. The lighting was not ideal but everything else seems to make up for it. It’s not a wow shot, but I somehow kept coming back to it browsing through my collection so I threw it up here. I find it subtly pleasing, and like my last post from this fiesta it could work as an album cover. Was the music affecting my composition that day?

Still a ways to go before I’ll be moving on from Bolivian fiestas.

Cam.

Leave a Reply

