Bolivian Character

Diptych of Bolivian musician during a fiesta in San Pedro. Photographs taken on a Canon 5D Mark II camera and Sigma 50mm f1.4 EX DG HSM lens. Exposure Details: Left – 1/125 second @ f2.5 ISO 6400. Right: 1/160 second @ f2.8 ISO 5000.

In late April this year I was travelling through western Bolivia on my way to Peru. After seeing a photo in a coffee table photo-book I made an impulse detour to visit a place called Sorata. The photograph showed a town clinging to a mountainside above an apparently bottomless valley. Above rose fully cultivated hillsides of impossible incline and glacier capped mountains. The vertical scale in the photograph reminded me of Nepal and after months of summer in Brazil I was ready for some more temperate mountain air.

I arrived just as the town became engulfed in fiesta. For the next three days I was swept away in an endless deafening parade of marching brass bands, elaboarte costume dances and free flowing beer and chicha (a maize-based drink). There were many great moments and despite my generally inebriated state I managed to capture a nice collection of images from the festivities. I’ll be sharing them over the course of the next month beginning today with this Diptych of a trumpet player I hung out with for some beers during a break in the marching.

More to come soon =D

And don’t forget you can click on the image to see it in an enlargened size.

Happy Halloween / Feliz día de los Muertos

Cam.

3 thoughts on “Bolivian Character

  1. Pingback: Fiesta en Bolivia « CAM COPE Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

