What would you do for a picture?

Local ‘carretilleros’ load their wheelbarrows straight from supply ships, Morro de Sao Paulo island, Bahia, Brazil. Canon 5D Mark II camera and Canon 24-105mm f4L IS USM lens. Exposure Details: 1/125 seconds @ f5 ISO 2500.

Sometimes in the quest for a cool photo I find myself asking the following question:

Will this photo be worth putting myself in {insert unpleasant scenario here}?

For me those unpleasant scenarios normally involve various kinds of unsavoury filth, the path of dangerous oncoming objects, the ridicule of strangers, the risk of being mugged for my brick-like Canon 5D or the risk of damaging my camera in the process.

To get the silhouettes against the sunset in this image I had to lie down on my stomach amongst fish blood and scales left by local fisherman. While glamming it up amongst the entrails these guys all had a good laugh at my expense. My cause was probably not helped by the fact that I was wearing a Peru soccer guernsey at the time, an object of open ridicule in world-dominating-insanely-soccer-crazy Brazil.

I had to lie down on my stomach amongst fish blood and scales left by local fisherman

Probably the next most blog-worthy anecdote on this theme was an occassion at Thredbo ski resort when I had to literally hurdle an out of control ski racer as he slipped in icy conditions on a gate I was standing below to get the best angle. He slid directly towards me at maximum velocity and I had no time to do anything but jump directly into the air as he skidded underneath me, a lightning streak of skis and poles on his merry way down the mountain (no mean feat as I was wearing heavy ski boots). That day I decided it was not worth being pummelled by this guy to get that particular photo, but it was worth the risk of standing directly below the gate in icy conditions.

I had no time to do anything but jump directly into the air as he skidded underneath me, a lightning streak of skis and poles

So have you found yourself asking if it’s worth the filth, the humiliation or bone-crunching collision for a photo? What have you put yourself through to get the shot?

Leave a Reply

