Republica de la Boca!

Public basketball/soccer court in Boca, Buenos Aires. Canon 5D Mark II camera and Canon 24-105mm f4L IS USM lens. Exposure Details: 1/320 seconds @ f5 ISO 400.

Bienvenidos a Buenos Aires! After 4 years away from the continent I’ve finally arrived back in South America. For the past 5 days I’ve been exploring the chaotic urban labyrinth of Buenos Aires that 13.5 million Argentinians call home. I arrived straight from the relative tranquility of spacious, leafy Melbourne to this South American concrete jungle and it has been a big shock but awesome on all fronts. I’ve been lucky enough to stay with two awesome hosts over that time by the name of Sandra and Ignacio (also a photographer, check out his blog) who have both showed me a stash of hidden gems in this intense mega-city. I have only a small amount of time before I have to haul arse over to the bus station and find myself a seat destined for Córdoba so I’ll just quickly run through the highlights so far:

  • Huge Argentine eats in Plaza Serrano and Plaza de Armenia.
  • Partying till 7am in a club with free entry and free drinks all night courtesy of the DJ Manu and Juli! (You know who you are and thanks to Carla and Martin for putting me in touch!)
  • Watching Gauchos (Argentine cowboys) practising there stuff in an artist market in the suburb of Matadero.
  • Eating Argentine Asado (bbq).
  • Playing a game of football (soccer) with some friends in which I scored 2 goals, a relief after shitting myself that I wouldn’t be able to match it with the chosen ones of the sport.
  • Monday night live afro-percussion music and after party (even mondays go off here!)
  • Strolling through BA’s downtown hustle, and well known districts of San Telmo and La Boca.

I took this photo yesterday in the touristic but working class district: La Boca, from whence the famous Boca Juniors (the Collingwood of Argentina) come from. In some areas it’s a very gritty suburb but these kids were chill as and happy to have me hanging out taking photos while they played some basketball.

Stay tuned, there’s more to come soon. And don’t forget that you can subscribe to this blog via email (see the link in the right hand panel) or subscribe via RSS.

Cheers,

Cam.

Leave a Reply

