World Cup Trophy Tour

Local soccer fan

Portrait of New Caledonian football fan at the World Cup Trophy Tour in Nouméa. Canon 5D Mark II camera and Sigma 50mm f1.4 EX DG HSM lens. Exposure Details: 1/500 second @ f2.8 ISO 200

Today I’m throwing up a portrait I took while covering the soccer World Cup Trophy Tour in Nouméa last month. There is no particular story to this image other than to say I was after a nice fan portrait as part of my general coverage of the event. Key to this image was taking advantage of natural light, which I learned in my wedding photographer days with Ruben Palermo (an excellent photographer with whom I learned a lot). To create this image I brought this local soccer fan into a shady place where there was both even lighting and a nice colour matching background. I used a wide aperture to create my desired depth of field (softness/blurriness in front and behind the point of focus). I think also contributing to this image is that there was a large, white, fully sunlit marquee right behind me reflecting that even light I was after, as well creating a kind of reflective sheen on the dude’s eyes.

You can check out the rest of my coverage from the World Cup Trophy Tour on the gallery page of me website. There’s a bunch of cool action shots and portraits, including some commercial style stuff for the sponsor. Soon I’ll be posting some of the promised shots from my hikes in New Caledonia and also a few from my 2 weeks in Vanuatu. As for the next few days I’m off for a 3-day hike at Wilsons Promontory in Victoria. Thanks for reading, Cam.

Leave a Reply

